Banakas | Photography


Getting a DSLR can be an overwhelming experience for a new photographer. There are tons of knobs and buttons and you may have no idea what they all do. But the secret to a new camera, regardless of the price, is your knowledge of the “exposure triangle”. If you know how the exposure triangle works, then you know the basics of how your photos will turn out, and with this knowledge, you can build your skills with the manual functions of your new camera.

When playing with the controls of your camera, there are three key elements that you need to keep in mind. ISO, Aperture, and Shutter Speed. These three elements are the points on the “exposure triangle”. Each of these elements of the triangle relate to how light enters and interacts with your camera and it’s sensor.

Exposure Triangle

So what exactly are the points of the exposure triangle?

ISO – the measure of a digital camera sensor’s sensitivity to light
The key understanding of ISO is that it controls the “grain” or “noise” found in your image.

Aperture – the size of the opening in the lens when a picture is taken
The key understanding of Aperture is that it controls the Depth of Field of your image.

Shutter Speed – the amount of time that the shutter is open
The key understanding of Shutter Speed is that it controls the perceived motion of your image.

It is because of these points on the triangle that your images will come out with the proper exposure.

Keep in mind, a change in one of these elements will impact the others. This means that you can never really isolate just one point of the triangle.

This is just an introduction to a series of posts that I’m planning to share in the hopes that it will help you to become better familiar with your equipment. Also with this information, you will be able to step away from the auto setting of your camera and have more creative control over your photos.

Categories: Articles

Leave a Reply